Major reshuffle of IAS officers soon

 andhrapradesh | Written by : Suryaa Desk Updated: Mon, Apr 17, 2017, 10:47 AM

VIJAYAWADA : The ball has been set in motion to put the State administration on the fast track. Chief Minister N Chandrababu Naidu is learnt to be giving finishing touches to a major reshuffle of IAS officers, the second such exercise after Jan, 2015. Sources said the transfers are likely to be made any time this week.

While some officers have themselves requested transfers, Naidu, sources said, wanted to effect several others to infuse new zeal into the government and synchronise the same with his new team of Cabinet ministers. Chief Secretary Dinesh Kumar and Principal Secretary to the CM Satish Chandra reportedly met Naidu on Sunday. It is learnt that at least 35 officers, including nine district collectors, are likely to be shifted from their existing posts. The buzz in the Secretariat is that a couple of officers from the CMO along with IAS officers at the Tirumala Tirupati Devasthanams, could also be given new assignments. If reports are to be believed a junior IAS officer from the CMO is likely to be among the new district collectors.

Chittoor collector Siddharth Jain, Visakhapatnam collector Pravin Kumar, Srikakulam collector P Lakshminarasimham, East Godavari collector H Arun Kumar, Krishna collector Babu A and Guntur collector Kantilal Dande, are said to be among those being considered for transfers. Some senior officials like TTD executive officer D Sambasiva Rao, who were promoted but are being continued in their existing positions, could be given new assignments in the Secretariat.

Further, senior IAS officers JSV Prasad, Sumita Dawra, and L Premachandra Reddy along with endowments commissioner YV Anuradha, Secretary to the CMO PS Pradyumna, VUDA vice-chairman T Babu Rao Naidu, Rajamahendravaram municipal commissioner J Murali, and Vijayawada municipal commissioner G Veerapandian, are also among those likely to be given new roles.

Some crucial postings would be that of principal secretaries in the departments of finance, revenue, panchayat raj and rural development.